Home » ADTOI elections tomorrow with 2 posts to contest, amendments in MOA major agenda, ET TravelWorld News, ET TravelWorld

ADTOI elections tomorrow with 2 posts to contest, amendments in MOA major agenda, ET TravelWorld News, ET TravelWorld

by TopBusinessView

ADTOI elections tomorrow with 2 posts to contest, amendments in MOA major agenda

After a bout of delay and technical anomalies, the Association of Domestic Tour Operators of India (ADTOI) is going into elections after a gap of four years. The election of a new team is due since August 2020, when the tenure of the current EC and OB was completed. Citing Covid-19 pandemic, the association had decided to extend the term of the present team.

The association announced that elections to constitute the 13th Management Committee of the ADTOI comprising six office bearers and eight Executive Committee members will take place on October 14 at 10 am at the Metropolitan hotel in Delhi. The Returning Officer to complete the activity in a fair and peaceful will be Sanjeev Jyoti Sharma while Rakesh Kumar will be the Assistant Returning Officer.

After the elections got postponed in July this year, certain members of the association have been raising questions over the delay in conducting the election as well the amendments in the ADTOI’s MOA, based on which the association governs. The need for amendments in the MOA grew stronger when the revised schedule of the election was announced with some members raising questions over the eligibility for contesting the elections. Whereas, the ADTOI team has been trying to communicate members that no rules are being flouted in any process and technical issues will be solved once elections are completed.

With just 16 members eligible to contest the elections, all other posts apart from Senior Vice President and Vice President are already filled unopposed and uncontested. Rajat Sawhney and Rajeev Sobti are contesting for the post of SVP while Rajesh Arya and Ashish Chandra Sehgal are contesting for the VP post. Two EC posts remain vacant to fill with lack of eligible contestants. ADTOI has a total of 322 active members eligible to vote.

Under the joint aegis of the Indian Railways and Rajasthan Tourism Development Corporation, modern furnishings and additional amenities have been included in the train which includes gym, spa and more. The first Palace on Wheels was flagged off in 1982.The seven-day journey will start officially from October 12 from Delhi.

ADTOI had last year amended the MOA and brought a clause according to which 50 per cent attendance in association activities was made mandatory to run for a post in Managing Committee. According to which, only 16 members out of 322 are eligible to contest the elections. Notably, no other travel trade association has such a clause. ADTOI also has close to 100 allied members, but they are not eligible to vote in the elections. The new team which will take charge tomorrow after the election process is completed. All the nominees are aware about the challenges and mentioned that amendments in the MOA will be the key agenda for the new team.

In conversation with ETTravelWorld, Sawhney, who is contesting for SVP said that as soon the new team gets elections, amendments will be made in the MOA on priority. This includes relaxation in attendance rule apart from a few other changes.

“Everybody should be allowed to participate in free and fair elections. The current team has agreed on the notion that once elections are completed modifications in the MOA will be made. We want to find solutions to serve our members better. At the end of the days, its our bid to serve the industry and promote the cause of domestic tourism in the country. I have been vocal about changes in the association and with the new team taking charge soon, I am sure things will change for better and ADTOI will come together to revive and thrive the industry,” Sawhney mentioned.

While, Arya, who is contesting for the VP post also vouched to make amendments to the MOA. “There are certain clauses which need modification. There are other clarifications also to be made. I am sure the new team will take up the matter on urgent basis. In ADTOI, we also need more national representation as association’s base lies in Delhi. We want to expand to different parts of the country and also bring more regional chapters and states to the fore and make them part of decision-making process. Larger state chapters with more members need representation in the MC,” he added during a conversation with ETTravelWorld.

After the relocation of Namibian cheetahs in the Kuno National Park, the state of Madhya Pradesh is witnessing a surge in tourist numbers, investments and developments. Further, MP, being the latest recipient of “Best Film Friendly State”, is also banking on the ‘film tourism’ segment, offering financial subsidies and land provisions. MD Sheo Shekar Shukla shares the details with ETTravelWorld.

Among the members getting re-elected unopposed, PP Khanna will continue to lead ADTOI as President for another term while other office bearers, Dalip Gupta, Hony Secretary, Manoj Varshney, Joint Secretary, and Ved Khanna will continue as Treasurer.

Ekta Vats, Neetish Gupta, K Vijay Mohan, Vinay Ahuja, DR Chouhan and Ashok Chanchlani will be the six EC members elected unopposed and uncontested.

Source link

Related Posts

Leave a Comment

An online resource called TOP BUSINESS VIEW offers concise, in-depth, and clear articles about many fields. We are skilled in various areas, including fashion, business, food, technology, and health. Visit our website to see some truly fantastic content that will catch your attention. Contact us at topbusinessview@gmail.com

Edtior's Picks

Latest Articles